Day 10: A morning without coffee is like … sleep

I left the house at 7:15 this morning to ferry someone near and dear to me to the hospital for follow-up x-rays.

And while you may have seen clocks on hospital walls and watches on health-care workers’ wrists, those are mere illusions, my friend. As soon as you glide through those automatic doors, time loses all meaning. An 8 a.m. appointment can mean 9:00 or 10:00 or, as it was today, 11:00.

“What does all this have to do with good deeds?” you may ask. My kind gesture today was that I endured this land that time forgot without benefit of my morning COFFEE!

(Yes, they do have something called coffee at the hospital, but 4 out of 5 doctors agree — it sucks.)

To drive my point home a little more eloquently (okay, a lot more), I leave you with this passage from Honore de Balzac’s “The Pleasures and Pains of Coffee”:

This coffee falls into your stomach, and straightway there is a general commotion. Ideas begin to move like the battalions of the Grand Army of the battlefield, and the battle takes place. Things remembered arrive at full gallop, ensuing to the wind. The light cavalry of comparisons deliver a magnificent deploying charge, the artillery of logic hurry up with their train and ammunition, the shafts of with start up like sharpshooters. Similes arise, the paper is covered with ink; for the struggle commences and is concluded with torrents of black water, just as a battle with powder.

So as you can see, some good deeds demand significant sacrifice ….

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 10: A morning without coffee is like … sleep

  1. Brenda

    LOL……no morning coffee!!!
    First thing I do every morning, let the dogs out, turn on my lap top then start the coffee.

    Our Kaiser hospital-medical center has coffee lattes almost as good as Starbucks. Get one every time I go there.

  2. Brenda

    Good Afternoon
    Thank you. I am really enjoying your posts. Look forward to it everyday. I plan to have coffee when reading them from now on as a toast to you.
    I used Google Chrome & have you book marked.
    Sincerely
    Brenda Betts-DeShields

Leave a Reply

