Day 40: Rubber band man

I like collecting elastic bands for a rainy day as much as the next person, but there comes a point where you begin to feel like the crazy old guy in town who hoards melon-sized balls of string.

A friend gave me a great idea for sharing this wealth of rubber rings.

Like mine, most of her elastics were originally wrapped around the daily newspaper. My friend gathers them together and puts them in an envelope and returns them to her paper delivery person. He’s happy to get them back because he has to pay for them himself.

So that’s what I’m doing today. The paper is delivered too early for me to hand them over in person, though. (I think if I did wait for him on the porch shrouded in the dawn mist, I’d probably give the man a heart attack.)

So I’m putting them into an envelope labelled, “Globe and Mail delivery person.”

I’ll find out tomorrow morning if this was in fact a good deed or if I ruined this guy’s day because he saw the bulging envelope and thought it was a big fat tip. In that case, as my teenage niece would say, “Burn.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

