Day 51: The shadow of your smile

Today was a smiling day. Wait, that makes it sound as though I only grin once a year. Make that a “smile at strangers” day.

I thought it would be easier for me this time because I’ve tried this smiling thing on several other days. But no, it’s just as nerve wracking each time I do it. Especially if I really go for it and throw in a little eye contact. Very tricky business — not for any of you first-timers out there.

The fact of the matter is, not everyone welcomes a complete stranger smiling at them on the street and I try to be sensitive to that. The only reason I’m doing it, after all, is to extend a friendly greeting to passersby.

If you ever find yourself hiking on the steep mountain paths in Switzerland, the hikers there traditionally give you a little nod as you pass and greet you with the local dialect for “Go with God.”

I try to conjure up that warm memory as I approach a passing teen who has white wires coiling out of her ears. I buck up my courage and smile and nod and … also try eye contact (the triple combo). I don’t get a smile back, but that’s okay.

Maybe she was smiling on the inside!

Postscript:
For any “Archie” fans out there, here’s something to put a smile on your face.
The hot new single “Crush” from … you guessed it … David Archuleta. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCTw5lDiIkI&feature=related

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 51: The shadow of your smile

  1. thatboycansing

    Thank you, thank you for this great entry! I love to smile! If I saw you on the street I would smile right back! You just really brightened my day! Thanks!

    I really, really, love DA’s new single. I was a little worried at first, but now that I’ve listened to it for a while, I wonder “what was I thinking”!

    PS – That line in the song you mentioned on ND, I felt the same way!! (sorry if that’s TMI) 🙂

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks thatboycansing, if I could figure out how to put a smiley face in this message, I’d send you a smile now!

  3. thatboycansing

    A smile is a colon : then a right parathesis ) always right next to each other. Like this 🙂 And that’s about all my computer knowledge !! Heehee. 😉

  4. thatboycansing

    And the wink is a semi-colon instead of a colon. But I think the blog has to have those features enambled! Which yours does!! Well, I guess I knew more than I thought, I think!!

Leave a Reply

