Day 56: That’s my queue

As I waited in line at the grocery store, I remembered one of the ideas posted in a comment a while back (thanks Thatboycansing). The comment suggested letting someone ahead of me in line.

Behind me was a young girl of 12 or so struggling to hold onto two jars of pickles the size of watermelons, along with a package of Kraft slices (emergency barbecue supplies, I figured).

I motioned for her to go ahead of me, but she hesitated (age before beauty, I guess), but I insisted and she seemed relieved to be able to put the heavy jars down on the counter.

You’re probably thinking, “Why didn’t this bozo (who’s supposed to be on the lookout for potential good deeds) think of this herself?

Fair question. And I’m not sure if I know the answer. It’s not that I’m in so much of a rush that I’d never consider allowing someone else to go ahead. But while I’m waiting in line (and going through life in general) I tend to get lost in my own thoughts and don’t notice what’s going on around me.

I frequently get reprimanded by friends and acquaintances for walking blithely past them. Fortunately, most of them know me well enough to poke me with something sharp to snap me out of my dreamworld. I regret that others think I’m snubbing them, however, and probably think I’m the rudest person on the planet.

This is a long-winded way to say thanks again for the idea. It helped me be more mindful of others’ needs, which is what I set out to do in the first place — baby step by baby step.

P.S. Keep those ideas coming — I need them, as you can see!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

