Day 101: Mea culpa

It had to happen sooner or later. I committed a couple of good deed faux pas today.

First, I held the door of the pharmacy open for an elderly lady pulling one of those wheeled shopping carts.

She stopped in her tracks until I let go of the door and it closed. She then proceeded to reach for the handle. The look she gave me as I passed said, “I can do that myself, thank you.” And she did.

Maybe I should have explained that even if she’d been young and spry, I’d have done the same thing — I’m an equal-opportunity door-holder-opener these days. Oh well.

Then I heard about a job opportunity through one person that sounded ideal for a friend of a friend. I double-checked to make sure the job was still open and obtained the contact information then tracked down this person to let her know.

“Oh, I’d never take a job like that,” she told me in no uncertain terms. I felt like I’d been slapped.

Here I’d been going along on my good deed way thinking I was Robin Hood minus the cash and the Merry Men. Turns out, not so much.

Guess a deed is only good if the person really needs and wants it done.

Don’t get me wrong. This acquaintance thanked me for thinking of her and for passing along the information, but I got the sense I’d insulted her, which is the last thing I wanted to do.

I figure this was simply a test to see if I’m up to the good deed challenge.

Live and learn, dear folks, live and learn.

I will dust myself off and go into battle again tomorrow. I might pick up a pair of kid gloves, however.

P.S. For a guaranteed smile-maker, check out this Utah corn maze/election poster. Too cute. Takes me right back to Star’s Hollow!

You know you've arrived when....

A-mazing!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 101: Mea culpa

Leave a Reply

