Day 123: Let’s dish

You missed a spot.

Spot, you missed a spot.

Methinks another good-deed elf was at work at the office today…. On Friday, finding myself alone in the kitchen with a dishwasher full of clean dishes, I tried to put them away quickly before anyone caught me.

This isn’t as easy as it sounds. These plates are heavy Ikea-ware and they clattered so much it sounded like party time at a Greek-restaurant (you know, when they toss the china around just for fun). It was a miracle I was able to put everything away without breaking anything.

Today when I found out who was on dish duty, I planned to try this again (the dish organizing, not the breaking). The assigned person was a busy mom of two who is hard-working, dedicated and really nice to boot.

Just as I was about to open the dishwasher, however, she walked in and opened it herself. And it was empty.

“Oh,” she said, surprised. “I ran it this morning but someone must have emptied it for me. That’s so nice.” She smiled and I smiled back.

After she left, with no dishwasher to empty, I instead put away the overflow items that had been left in the dish drainer. Not as flashy as emptying the dishwasher, mind you, but maybe you could call it good-deedish.

It’s heartwarming to know acts of kindness and caring can happen when you least expect them.

And good-deed elf, whoever you are, I salute you for lending a hand and I hope someone lends you a hand in return someday.

And in the spirit of lending a hand, here’s a partial clip one my new favourite (as yet unreleased) songs called “My Hands.” Enjoy!

(Credit mrayburn8743 via YouTube.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

