Day 132: It’s raining men

Waiting for the bus tends to be a solitary activity, for me, anyway. It’s a great time to plan your grocery list, listen to music or read.

I was doing the latter this morning when I heard “Hello!” behind me. I almost dropped my newspaper. I had been standing alone in the bus shelter, taking refuge from the raindrops, until this stranger arrived.

He was an Indian man in his mid-fifties with a pronounced accent and he proceeded to comment on the weather.

Now, once upon a time it would have been considered rude to stand in such close proximity to someone without at the very least acknowledging their presence.

But that was then, and this is now. So my first impulse was to say, “Listen buster, I know you’re new here but women alone at bus stops don’t generally like to chat with any stranger, particularly of the male persuasion.” Or something much wittier.

But this man’s smile was so wide and his pants so short, it was hard to feel threatened by him. Especially at 8:00 in the morning.

So I recalibrated my stern, noncommittal commuter face into something a tad friendlier and engaged in a conversation with him on the finer points of barometric pressure and gale force winds until the bus arrived.

It was nice. And no one was more surprised than I was. Just who did whom the good deed there, I’ll leave up to you….

P.S. Nothing warms you up on a cold day like … dancing, which is what this song always makes me do. Enjoy!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

