Day 133: Line dancing

My theme seems to be bus travel these days. It is a great way to see many deeds — the good, the bad and the grungy.

And rush hour can really bring out the last two. Everyone’s impatient to get home, tired after a long day and not thrilled at the prospect of getting up close and personal with a bus load of sweaty strangers (that’s my route, anyway).

So when someone tries to butt in line at the stop, things can get ugly. Today, the woman standing behind me was particularly disgruntled.

I could tell by the dramatic sighs and groans she’d let out when a “not in service” bus would pass us by. And the way she kept nudging me from behind as if I wasn’t doing my part to keep the long line in formation.

I felt like turning around and saying, “Look lady, I’m a pro, I’ve been doing this for years. I practically have my Master’s in Bus Queue Protocol, so back off.” But, alas, I did not.

The bus arrived and just then a large man, a VERY large man sauntered over to our section of the line. (Did I mention how large he was?)

He was close to 6′, at least 200 lbs, and appeared to have Down’s Syndrome. I could tell the woman behind me spotted him at the same time I did, because again with the sighing.

Right then and there I decided I was letting him in the line in front of me because:
(a) It seemed like the right thing to do, and
(b) He could take both of us.

This woman was not happy, but I held my ground until he boarded. She must have resigned herself to the situation because all was quiet on the sighing front.

The amazing thing was, this guy got a seat (well, two actually) and so did I. Go figure….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

