Day 143: Poppy power

rememberance-inside-en-frI have so many of those red felt lapel poppies from Remembrance Days past, I probably never need to get another one. But, every year, I do. Not because I need one, but because it helps me remember why we wear them in the first place.

According to Wikipedia: “Remembrance Day … is a day to commemorate the sacrifices of members of the armed forces and of civilians in times of war, specifically since the First World War. It is observed on November 11 to recall the end of World War I on that dat450px-lest_we_forgete in 1918.

Each November, I usually look out for a dignified older gentleman wearing a crisp military uniform to be standing at the subway with a box full of poppies. A couple of times, I’ve put my coins in the box and had the pleasure of the veteran carefully pinning the poppy to my collar. Those poppies rarely fall off. It always makes me feel as though I’m being awarded a special medal or something. It’s nice.

This year, I haven’t spotted any veterans (I know there are fewer around every year) but I did see the familiar box of poppies — at Tim Horton’s.

It wasn’t quite the same (and I had to pin it on myself), but I did get a poppy once again. And I commend Timmies for making sure these brave veterans are remembered.

Lest we forget….


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

