Day 161: Two for the road

) .

Sorry, best I could do on "short" notice :).

The hazard of writing this blog is that some days I find myself so busy scribbling away in my notebook that life itself literally passes me by.

So today on the bus I put down my pencil and decided to take a look around. It was packed, so there was lots of life to see, let me tell you.

One person immediately caught my attention. He was a troll of a man, less than five feet tall. He was stooped over with a pronounced hump on his back and a soiled navy toque on his head. He hung onto the chin-height rail by the door for dear life.

Beside him stood his polar opposite. Tall young guy in robust health wearing a fancy schmancy wool duffle coat and polished boots.

My first impulse was to feel a twinge of pity for the hunchbacked man but then I realized how ridiculous that was. I had no idea what his life was like — whether he’d go home to a loving family, a broken one or lived all alone.

The same could be said for the young coat model. Just because he’s handsome, wears shiny footwear and looks well fed says nothing about his inner life or private struggles. So I know it doesn’t seem like much, but my good deed today was simply to take more note of those around me.

And also to try and remember that each of us carries around love and contentment in one pocket and our deepest sorrows in the other — which one we rest our hand in being the only difference really.

*************

P.S. Here’s a video from someone who’s doing a very good turn for Toronto on Dec. 9th. Even though this young guy has a concert in Buffalo that evening, at 5:30 a.m. he’ll be performing in Toronto on behalf of the Chum Christmas Wish campaign, which helps give kids across the city a Merry Christmas. (You can drop off an unwrapped toy at any RBC branch in the GTA.) Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 161: Two for the road

  1. refnaf

    good point… I do need to pay more attention to those around me and just be aware that everyone has a story… thanks.
    Love that vid BTW

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Refnaf, me too!

Leave a Reply

