Day 162: Lost and found

Today turned out to be sort of a “spring cleaning in winter” type of day. Everywhere I went, I found myself picking up stray newspapers, discarded coffee cups and one water bottle.

In the office ladies’ room, a coworker caught me gathering up the bundle of paper towels that had landed all over the floor as I put them in the trash. She laughed because she couldn’t figure out who it was at first (I was bent over, showing off my best side!).

Since clean-ups aren’t that exciting to read about, I’ll share with you a heartwarming story that was printed in the newspaper advice column last week. (Hope Abby doesn’t mind if I try it sometime….)

dear_abby_walk_of_fame_4-20-06Dear Abby:
Please let the world know that kind people still exist.

I was on my way to two job interviews. Not surprisingly, I was nervous, so before I got off my train, I took my phone out to check the directions to the first one. A short walk later, I reached the subway, but when I went into my purse for my wallet to buy a MetroCard, lo and behold, my wallet and new glasses were missing.

I retraced my steps and ran to the courtesy counter to ask if anyone had turned in my wallet and glass case. The woman in the booth told me the train was still in the station and to hurry there immediately to check for my things. Long story short, no luck.

Heartbroken, I returned to the courtesy desk. Not only would I miss both my appointments, but I was stranded with no money. I burst into tears as I explained the situation to the woman in the booth.

Abby, she reached into her purse and handed me $7.00! “It’s all I have right now,” she said, “use it to get to your interviews.” I went to my interviews and aced them both. When I came back to thank her, she was gone, but she had described me to the woman on the next shift who handed me a courtesy ticket home.

Abby, that woman’s kindness was overwhelming. And just when the day couldn’t get any better, I received a call. A conductor had found my wallet and glasses and would meet me on the train the next day.

I just want to share that kindness can happen when we least expect it. When it happens, we should pay it forward.

S. Smith, Asbury Park, NJ

P.S. Here’s a song with a lyric I love: “Show me good things come to those who wait.” Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

