Day 163: God bless the child

missing-child-teddybearThe nightly newscast I watched years ago used to open every telecast with these words: “It’s 11 o’clock. Do you know where your children are?’

I’m not sure why they did that, but it scared me back then and still does, especially when you read some of the frightening statistics.

Did you know that, in 2007, there were 60,582 children reported missing in Canada?

I found that out today when a fundraiser called from the Missing Children Society of Canada. I’ve already donated to this worthy cause once or twice this year so I wasn’t planning on sending another one for a while. But the woman who called got to me when she said, “with the holidays approaching, reuniting families is more important than ever.” Couldn’t argue with that.

And this organization has an excellent track record. Their investigators “have closed 1,600 cases since 1986 (an average of 70 a year) and have assisted law enforcement in over 4,200 additional cases,” according to their website.

I can’t imagine what it must be like to endure the terror of a missing child. My donation wasn’t a huge one but I do hope it helps….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

