Day 176: Take your seat

Snow glove, snow love.

Snow glove, snow love.

What a difference a day makes – 176 days that is. Back in June before I started this blog, I prided myself on my public transit seat-acquiring strategy.

I was a master of positioning myself first in the bus lineup or on the subway platform, scouting opportunities then nabbing any available opening even if it meant squeezing myself between two sumo wrestlers.

If public-transit seat acquisition is ever made an Olympic sport, I’d be a real contender (okay, maybe just the PanAm Games).

I only explain this because when I waited for the bus this morning, I blithely let pretty much everyone get on before me and it didn’t phase me one bit.

I wasn’t anxious or chomping at the big, or my old favourite – gently elbowing.

The strangest thing of all? I got a seat anyway….

Reader mail

A friend (and reader) let me know about a lovely gesture of kindness that she experienced this week and I wanted to share it with you (and feel free to send me yours!):

“I dropped a black leather glove and went back to look for it. Because I believe in the inherent goodness of people I looked high and low and finally found it on top of an electrical box. I expected that someone would pick it up out of the slush and they did!!”

That story really put me in the holiday spirit and I hope this carol does too. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 176: Take your seat

  1. bytonysebastian

    I can’t help not feeling inspired after reading every single one of your entries. About a year ago I entered my first race and that has changed not only myself, but the way I see and treat the world. Today I consider myself a better person, being of mine surroundings. This morning I woke up at 5:00 am to run a marathon, in order raise money for the children of the world. Today, I believe there is something that can be done to change the way things are and I am doing whatever I can to spread the word.

  2. gooddeedaday

    Wow, Tony, a marathon, that’s awesome!!! Now, I’m inspired. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

