Day 178: Seeing is believing

Sorry, not totally relevant but it made me giggle....

Sorry, not really relevant but it made me giggle....

This is going to sound a little crazy but it’s true. I was paying for a purchase today and said hello to the cashier and asked how he was doing. (Okay, that’s not the crazy part.)

He said “Fine” and smiled and I asked if it was a busy night and he said yes, but his shift was nearly over.

I’ve had exactly the same conversation before, of course, but today was different. I think it was the first time I’d looked the cashier in the eye, said these things and meant them 100%. Not in a “please join my cult” kind of way, but simply saying what I meant and meaning what I said.

Now this is the crazy part: Even though the exchange only lasted a few seconds, it felt significant, real, that I really “saw” this person. I can’t speak for the cashier but he looked pretty happy for a guy who’d been on his feet for hours. So I’m hoping he could sense my sincerity.

Not sure if this counts as a good deed so I’ll just have to try it again and see….

Random act of kindness corner
Spotted this wonderful story in my local newspaper, and thought I’d share it with you:

On the way to the bank yesterday morning, my niece lost an envelope with $800 cash that was supposed to be deposited in my account. She searched the path several times and couldn’t find the envelope.

When I found out what happened I knew the chance of someone returning the money was one in a million, even if my name and account number was written on the envelope.

As I returned home from church, my cell phone rang and the person on the other end asked me if I lost something. I started sobbing. I cannot believe that there’s still a good Samaritan out there who found me to return my money.

P.S. I’m feeling very Ho! Ho! Ho! these days, so here’s Frank Sinatra with “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear.” Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

