Day 181: Snow day

Cool tunes, man....

Cool tunes, man....

The sun was shining so brightly today, I couldn’t wait to get outside for a walk. Then, two steps out, when the frosty air hit me, I couldn’t wait to get back in.

But on I went, plastic bag in hand, ready to do battle with litter wherever I found it.

Trouble was, a few inches of snow fell last night, which blanketed the whole area.

So my trash collection (which usually fills a bag to bursting) amounted to one stray coffee cup and a corrugated tray.

Either my neighbours have gotten much tidier lately or the litter was still there, but buried in pretty white snow.

As much as I love the idea of a white Christmas, the thought made me a little sad today.

A dear friend of my mom’s died suddenly this week with no warning at all. As I crunched through the white stuff, I started thinking about her family — especially her kids and grandkids — no matter how much snow there is next week, they’ll have a very dark Christmas this year.

But as her son wrote in an email sent out to her friends today: “Let’s all be thankful for what we have this holiday season.” Amen.

P.S. This song isn’t a carol but has a message of peace and goodwill that we all probably need right about now. It also reminds me of my mom’s good friend and her great love of music.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 181: Snow day

  1. We’re doing one good deed per week, I hope that counts 🙂

    http://inthebucket.wordpress.com/category/bucket-brigade/

    Keep up the great work, the world needs more people dedicated to even the littlest of good deeds.

    Ben

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Ben, it sure does! Good luck with the Bucket Brigade, what a great project!

Leave a Reply

