Day 197: Crème de la crème

creaminmycoffeeI was thinking about New Year’s resolutions today. Not making them, mind you, just thinking about them.

Last year, my lone resolution was to avoid getting roped into doing anything I didn’t want to do. It worked — most of the time, anyway.

This year, I wanted to make at least one resolution, one that’s good-deed related. So here it is: to be more considerate in general. I know that sounds vague and wishy-washy but so did my resolution last year and yet it was surprisingly effective.

Today, I did try to be more considerate. In fact, in a restaurant this morning I gave away my little individual creamers to a lady at the next table. This didn’t start out as a good deed because I wasn’t actually planning to have any more coffee.

But then I changed my mind. (It’s the dang caffeine – cutting back on that probably should have been my resolution.)

I did have milk to add to my cup, but hey, the song doesn’t say “you’re the milk in my coffee,” now does it?

As you can see, I’m starting out the New Year a little slow. Definitely need some inspiration. So if you have any ideas, big or small, please let me know.

In the meantime, here are some resolution ideas that appeared in The Globe and Mail newspaper (originally excerpted from “1001 Rules for My Unborn Son,” the blog of U.S. filmmaker Walker Lamond:

  • You are what you do, not what you say.
  • Keep a copy of your letters. It makes it easier on your biographer.
  • Offer your seat to a woman, no matter how old she is. [Love this one.]
  • Never criticize a book, play or film unless you have read or seen it yourself. Art is full of surprises. [Love this one, too.]
  • Believe it or not, a museum is a great place to beat a hangover. It’s cool, quiet and full of water fountains.
  • Don’t throw sand or, when you’re older, mud. [Also very good.]

P.S. To be more considerate to all music lovers, I’ll share this great song with you. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 197: Crème de la crème

  1. refnaf

    you are the best!

  2. gooddeedaday

    Aw, thanks, Ref! You’re the salt on my cracker!

Leave a Reply

