Day 209: Stare master

That's the look!

Just another day on the TTC.

I fell off the good-deed wagon today. Just a little.

I blame it on public transportation. Too many pitfalls.

It’s been about a month since I’ve hopped on the TTC and it took me a while to get back in the groove.

Everything started out well. As I paid my fare, I gave the driver a big “Hello, how are you?”

But when I sat down things started to go terribly wrong. I hadn’t brought anything to read (mistake numero uno). So my mind took its usual meander from to do lists to “did I leave that light on?” to more random fretting (mistake No. 2).

So when a man sitting near the front turned around and looked my way, I was caught off guard and (I think) gave him my worst “Avert those eyes immediately, buddy!” look.

He had just been innocently looking around and I must have glared at him like … well, like one of those crazy people who glare at you on the bus.

He averted his eyes immediately and shifted his whole body around. I felt terrible but what could I do? Tap him on the shoulder and say, “Sorry about the glare. Please carry on”?

I tried to make up for this misstep by:

a) Ceasing and desisting all glaring activity; and

b) Thanking my bus driver as I left and wishing him a good day.

Then, on the subway, a woman in her sixties boarded the train after I’d sat down and she looked a little confused.

This is my chance to redeem myself, I figured. So I moved my bag to free up the seat beside me and she plunked herself down.

“Are we going southbound?” she asked sheepishly.

“Yes we are,” I replied.

“I knew that but I didn’t know that if you know what I mean.” She said, twisting her watchband. She seemed embarrassed that she’d had to ask.

“It’s not well signed. I’ve gone the wrong way before,” I said, hoping it would help.

She laughed, so I think it did. And I made a concerted effort to refrain from glaring for the remainder of the trip….

P.S. Here’s Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You.” Just because. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 209: Stare master

  1. I really like the concept of your blog, though I don’t know how you do it, unless you count door openings, and leave a penny stuff to make something happen on a slow day!

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Michael. Most days are pretty slow for me. I’m trying to find out if every little bit helps. I hope so.

Leave a Reply

