Day 218: Click art

screensaverI found myself housebound today due to work commitments (don’t you hate when that happens?). So I thought it was an ideal time to revisit the charity sites on my blogroll.

Just one click at each site raises funds (through sponsors) to promote literacy, fund free mammograms or help end hunger in developing countries. (No pressure, no pressure at all. 🙂 )

I also found a new website with a similar set up — MaterCare International Lifesaver Program.

When visiting the site, I was welcomed with this message:
“Thank you! You’ve just helped pay for surgery to repair a mother’s obstetric fistula.”

Now, I have no idea what an obstetric fistula is, but if moms have ’em and they need repairing, I am more than happy to help. (It’s not part of the carburetor, is it?)

Turns out, MaterCare International (MCI) is an association of Catholic Obstetricians and Gynaecologists dedicated to improving the lives and health of mothers and their children in developing countries. Here are some of their current projects:

  • In Rwanda: A New Emergency Treatment For Postpartum Haemorrhage
  • In Kenya: Building a Health Centre for Mothers and Children
  • In Ghana: Working with Midwives to Improve Maternal Health

So feel free to click away!

P.S. And while you’re clicking your way to a better world, check out this great song by James Morrison called “Wonderful World.” Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 218: Click art

  1. bytonysebastian

    Hello friend! I have been away from my blogging life for a little bit… travels, holidays, new projects… I am finally back on track, should have something up soon. In the meantime I will find inspiration in your stories. Have a wonderful year!

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Michael.

    Tony!!!! Look forward to your next installment! Lots of great shots, I bet!

Leave a Reply

