Day 219: Eye contact

Groooovy baaaaaby!

Groooovy baaaaaby!

A few weeks ago I slipped some of my old reading glasses into a Lions Club donation box at my mom’s church.

I came across another pair today. Perfectly good glasses just, ahem, not quite strong enough for me anymore, so I dropped those off, too.

Curious person that I am, I checked into other places that collect used eyeglasses — and even sunglasses — for the needy, and it turns out Goodwill Industries and LensCrafters stores also take donations.

Spectacles can also be sent in padded envelopes or boxes to:

New Eyes for the Needy
549 Millburn Avenue
P.O. Box 332
Short Hills, NJ 07078

Here are some other fascinating facts I came across:

  • Medical missions often call their eye-care facilities “joy clinics” because of the happiness that eyeglass donations bring. [Wouldn’t you love to work at a place with “joy” in the title?]

  • Sunglasses donations are needed in countries near the equator to help protect eyes from sun damage.
  • Over four million pairs of eyeglasses are thrown away each year in North America. [This stat distresses me greatly.]
  • In Africa, 50% of children in institutions for the blind would be able to read normal or large print if they had eyeglasses. [This stat distresses me even more than the other one.]
  • Over 1 billion people in developing countries need eyeglasses but cannot afford them.
  • The price for glasses in many African countries can exceed three months’ average salary.

And if you’re reading this without glasses… enjoy it while it lasts! 🙂

P.S. A trip down Disney lane with “My Hands.” Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 219: Eye contact

  1. gooddeedaday

    Awww, thanks, Michael.

Leave a Reply

