Day 224: You’ve got a friend

penpalI mailed a note today to someone I don’t get to see often enough. He’s one of my favourite people.

He’s a quirky guy… in a good way. We used to sing together quite a bit. He plays guitar and writes beautiful songs. I’m going to try and figure out how to upload one of them here soon.

We do keep in touch but it’s not easy. He lives on the opposite side of town, doesn’t like to answer the phone and doesn’t have an email address, nor a computer.

His phone handset broke a couple of years ago, but he doesn’t seem to mind. When he calls, though, we have to talk by speaker phone. Not exactly conducive to chatting. As I’m talking, I always feel like an entire board meeting is listening in.

But I heard a song today that reminded me of one of his, so I sat down and wrote him an old fashioned letter – handwritten and everything. Quite retro. Just said I was thinking about him and hoped all was well.

I have a feeling I’ll get a call soon. Better get the boardroom ready….

P.S. This is a song my friend loves to sing and play on guitar. It always makes me cry. “Starry Starry Night,” by Don McLean. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 224: You’ve got a friend

  1. Im sure your friend will appreciate your note. Please Help Us Reach Our Goal Of 1 Million Good Deeds In 2009 By Sharing Your Good Deed. Share it with us – http://www.aglobaltribe.com

  2. Handwritten notes, especially recognition notes at work, are super powerful.

  3. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Michael, I think so too!

Leave a Reply

