Day 225: Hero worship

Gotta get outta these work clothes....

Gotta get outta these work clothes....

Oh to have your hopes raised, then dashed in a nanosecond.

When I opened my newspaper today, I was gleeful (clearly, I skipped the front page). In the Life section, there was an article on the World Superhero Registry. Yes, that’s right, a registry for real-life superheroes.

The article described these individuals as “do-gooders” on a mission “to make the world a better place.”

One hero, Polar Man, shovels snow for others in Nunavut. Another, Phantom Zero, helps the homeless, while Mr. Lazaros, founder of Superheroes Anonymous, picks up trash in Times Square.

Hey, does that make me a superhero too? I wondered. Alas no, as explained in the official website’s FAQs:

Q: What is a Real-Life Superhero?
A: A Real-Life Superhero is a person who does good deeds or fights crime while in costume.

So dear friends, no fancy name or superhero mystique for me, a lowly civilian good-deeder.

Unless, of course, I snag myself a bedazzled cape or Lycra bodysuit… nah…..

P.S. Almost forgot, my actual gesture today was extremely non-heroic. I smiled hello at three neighbours and clicked my way through my blogroll for charity. But here’s a lovely song for you. Have a super weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 225: Hero worship

  1. We were assigned to deliver three smiles by my instructor as part of the MBA program I am taking.

  2. gooddeedaday

    Michael, cool homework!

Leave a Reply

