Day 227: Good-deed survey says….

surveycartoonI love a good mini-series. You may have noticed that from my previous attempts at two-parters (see Day 207: Coupon caper, part deux and Day 138: Shop girl) .

This one starts a little differently, though – with a survey.

Every so often I get an unsolicited envelope in my mailbox requesting that I fill out a consumer survey (in exchange for product coupons) because the companies involved “really want to know what you like and need.”

I don’t usually read this bit, however, because I tend to toss the still-sealed envelope in the recycle bin.

This time, however, I decided to fill out and mail in the survey as a good deed of sorts.

“How is that a good deed,” you ask? Stay with me here, people.

When the coupons I’ve been promised arrive in the mail, I will bring them over to the grocery store to give to others – that’ll be Part 2 of this thrill-a-minute miniseries.

Completing Part 1 was no picnic, let me tell you. The survey comprised six pages and 85 categories, each with up to 38 questions. Yikes.

(Can you develop carpal tunnel from doing one survey?)

The questions ranged from the yawn-inducing, “In the past two weeks, which brands of gum were chewed most often in your household?” To the, ahem, more personal: “Do any household members have sensitive teeth?” Excuse me, but I’m a little sensitive about that subject ….

So, after carefully documenting my innermost grocery and personal hygiene preferences, the survey is done and on its way to survey central.

Stay tuned for Part 2. You’re on the edge of your seat, I can tell….

P.S. As an interlude, here’s Canadian singer-songwriter Lily Frost with “Enchantment.” Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 227: Good-deed survey says….

  1. So This Is Life. . .

    Wow you are a really good person to do a survey like that and then give out the coupons? I’ve done the surveys before but never get the coupons. Good post, thanks!

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, So This Is Life (great name, btw!).

Leave a Reply

