Day 229: Cold comfort

My change-in-pockets-ready-for-anything technique failed me today. Mainly because I ran out of change to put in my pockets.

I was walking downtown and even though it was a balmy –5 C, I kept thinking that either winters are getting colder or my tolerance for sub-zero days has dropped significantly.wolfgranolabar

Then I saw him — or her, I wasn’t exactly sure — sleeping on a sidewalk grate. The person was cocooned inside a navy sleeping bag, hood pulled over head, backpack as a pillow. Steam billowed from the subway tunnel below, making it a premiere spot to crash, I guess.

I didn’t want to just walk on by, but my wallet was empty.

Then I saw a little bundle of things beside the person’s head. A paper cup, a small bag and a styrofoam food container.

And I remembered the granola bar I’d stuck in my purse a few days ago on a previous trip into the city. I found it in my bag and gently placed it beside the styrofoam box.

It wasn’t much, but at least it was ice and snow resistant – unlike the person lying there…..

P.S. A warm song for a cold day, Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours.” Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 229: Cold comfort

  1. Elaine

    Please keep up the good work!! My good deed today was not as impotant as yours but it was, at least, eco friendly. I put my used inkjet cartridges and an old cell phone into a freepost charity recycle bag and sent it off. I recycled, raised money for charity, and helped others obtain reasonably priced recycled goods, all in one easy step.

  2. gooddeedaday

    Wow, that’s amazing, well done! I love one-stop good deeding!

  3. That is so brutal, people were not meant to live on the streets of Toronto, or any Canadian city. Except Kelowna.

Leave a Reply

