Day 230: Burn centred

Canadian Burn Foundation helps kids.  What's not to like?

Canadian Burn Foundation helps kids. What's not to like?

I was tallying up my expenses earlier this week and had decided that I’d have to investigate some thriftier ways of good-deeding.

Then today, as I was working away on a story about fire safety, I got a call from The Canadian Burn Foundation (CBF) requesting a donation for one of their children’s programs. (Yet more evidence that the man or woman upstairs does indeed have a sense of humour.)

I think you can guess what my response was.

To be honest, I’d never heard of the organization. So I checked out the CBF website and here’s the Reader’s Digest version of what I found out:

  • The organization was founded in 1998 to provide programs and support for adult and child burn survivors across Canada and around the world.
  • In North America, a child is burned every 7.5 minutes in the home by a hot liquid. (Injuries are even more frequent in developing countries.)
  • Before 1980, few serious burn victims survived their accidents. Medical advances have made it possible, even for a person with over 90% of their body burned, to survive.
  • CBF provides new or refurbished computers to adult and child burn survivors, enabling them to access the Internet to connect with friends and other burn survivors.

I think I did the right thing.

P.S. On a lighter note, it was cold enough for penguins today, so here you go!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 230: Burn centred

  1. I was actually starting to wonder if you’d noticed how much you’ve been spending!

    But, I do agree you did the right thing; plus, the co-incidence factor.

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, OWW. Yeah, the coincidence thing freaked me out a little.

Leave a Reply

