Day 234: Let them eat cake

Make a wish ... a big one ....

Make a wish ... a big one ....

A while back, when I put out a desperate call for good-deed ideas, a wise commenter (thanks, TBCS!) suggested letting someone else go ahead of me in line at the grocery store.

For those of you who do that on a regular basis, you might be shocked to hear that such a gesture would never have occurred to me.

I’m usually waiting in line aimlessly daydreaming, not even thinking about who’s standing behind me.

But thanks to that suggestion, I did glance behind me today. And noticed that while I had a cartload of groceries, the lady behind me was holding a cake box from the bakery section and two candles in the shape of a number 1 and 2. That’s it.

My acute spidey senses told me it was someone’s birthday … brilliant, huh? … either a 21-year-old or a 12-year-old.

So I smiled at the lady and said, “Oh, is that all you have? Why don’t you go ahead?”

In an effort of full disclosure, the husband sheepishly held up a frozen cheesecake. But I waved them both ahead and they were most appreciative. Looked as though they were in a hurry too. And, as you know, you can’t get the party started before the cake arrives!

They did squeeze in front of me but, unfortunately, I’d already jammed the conveyor belt with my stuff so there was nowhere to put the cakes.

I awkwardly reached over and dragged my tuna and broccoli and other odds and ends back to make room, they made their purchase and all was right with the world.

So once again, I put out a plea for good-deed ideas. I’m desperate here, my friends, so please  share … there’s cake!!

P.S. I’m not American, but this rendition of the “Star Spangled Banner” tonight was something else. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 234: Let them eat cake

  1. Bea

    I’ve done this for years, but found out that sometimes the person behind me will go ahead or sometimes not…but there’s always a generous “thank you for the offer!”
    One nice thing I have started to do, too, is…if the person at the register has put in a little more effort than just asking “did I find everything,” I will look at that person’s name tag and seek out the store manager to pay a compliment. The best service to me is when my groceries are handled with care and bagged properly! At times, I have phoned the store after I got home to relay the good message. Surely they must hear more complaints than niceties as this always seems to surprise the person I am talking to.
    I hope it makes their day!!

  2. Bea

    I want to add – the best service to me, too, is when it is delivered with a smile! Now, how about that National Anthem? Compliments to David Archuleta.

  3. gooddeedaday

    Great ideas, Bea, thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

