Day 235: Book club

bookmarkwithwriting-209x375I’m liking the whole miniseries thing, so welcome to Part 1 of a good deed idea called “Book Crossing.” I originally read about it on the SpreadChange site and it’s the coolest idea I’ve come across in a while.

“Sort of reverse shoplifting” is the way Heather Mehra-Pedersen, co-founder of www.bookcrossing.com, describes the concept.

The website was created on the premise that the two things that change people’s lives are the people they meet and the books they read. (I’d add the music they listen to, but that’s just me.)

Here’s how it works: find a book, read it and pass it on.

If you start with one of your own books, you first register its ISBN for free on the site. You are then given an ID number that you write inside the book along with a note asking the finder to log onto the site and make a quick journal entry.

That person reads your book then releases it “into the wild” by leaving it in a public place for someone else to find. You can also check out reviews by previous readers, include your own comments and follow where the book has been.

So today, I chose my book (Catch Me If You Can by Frank W. Abagnale), signed up for the site and registered the ISBN.

It was fun checking out the list of “release” locations and seeing bus stops, coffee shops and food courts that are literally just around the corner.

Who are these kooky book find-and-releasers right in my own backyard?

Tomorrow, I might find out. I’ll be choosing an “anonymous verandah” location (that was actually one of the choices on the drop-down menu). So stay tuned for Part 2….

P.S. Here’s a beautiful song from Grammy-winner Alison Krauss, “A Living Prayer.” Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 235: Book club

  1. Elaine

    What a wonderful website, and I hope that all of us in England can try to take part too. But I do have to confess, I have the scifi paperback “Brandy Jack” by Augustine Funnell from the booklover’s website http://www.gusbooks.com. I have this book tucked away in my heart and will never let it go.

    Regards
    Elaine

  2. refnaf

    wow, cool idea. I joined and sent my first book out into the wild!!!

  3. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Elaine, how’s the snow over there?

    Refnaf, wow, you’re speedy! I’m in awe.

  4. Elaine, I have trouble letting go of books sometimes, too. Here is a hint to make it easy — get inexpensive books from garage sales or library sales, such as best sellers that people really love but are often sold cheaply when they get older. I will read those but rarely keep them in my personal collection.

Leave a Reply

