Day 243: Bundle of joy

Likin' the beanie, Vince....

Likin' the beanie, Vince....

Why do we get so emotionally attached to our stuff? It’s just stuff, after all.

But emotional we get, I do anyway, when it comes time to part with any of it.

Today, I tried to select a few items to donate to the Saint Vincent de Paul “Bundle Sunday” coming up on the weekend at our church.

In case you’re not familiar with SV de P, according to their website: “The Society of Saint Vincent de Paul is dedicated to helping those less fortunate. With essential care and guidance, struggling families and individuals can build self-confidence and positive opportunity. We help people replace a sense of despair with a sense of dignity.

Here’s how the bundle day works: The SV de P truck parks out front, back doors wide open, and parishioners are asked to drop off donations of used clothing and small household goods.

I pulled together a few things but got stuck for some reason on one particular T-shirt. It bears the logo of a place I used to work. A place I didn’t even like.But for some reason, I hesitated before adding it to the bag of clothes.

So I told myself, “Self, it is time to move on. Someone else out there needs a T-shirt just like this one.” And I rolled it up and put it with the others.

Since Bundle Sunday isn’t till … well, Sunday … I still have a few days to change my mind ….

P.S. A reader pointed out this amazing group called Improv Everywhere, which “causes scenes of chaos and joy in public places.” I LOVE this. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

