Day 245: Sweet hearts

Forrest was right ... life really is like a box of, well, you know the rest....

Forrest Gump was right ... life really is like a box of, well, you know the rest....

My good deed yesterday was a little on the heavy, serious, kind-of- depressed-the- heck-out-of-me side, so I thought I’d lighten things up today.

I dropped off my mom at her hairdressing appointment and gave her some fancy shmancy chocolates to take to her stylist as a special treat.

I was thinking this wasn’t much of a good deed until I came across this story in my local paper:

“I always enjoyed grocery shopping with my mom and my favourite section of the store was the bulk foods, because I could just stare at all the candy, even if I could never buy it.

“One day my sister and I watched as a stock boy reloaded several bins of chocolates and goodies. As he was emptying the Smarties, he scooped out a handful out, and gave them to us! We were delighted and thanked him.

“Often times, people talk about doing big acts of charity. But it’s often the small things that make a difference.”
Joanne, Toronto

P.S. That story warmed my heart and I hope this sweet video will warm yours. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 245: Sweet hearts

  1. You know, you can’t get Smarties stateside, so while it’s not a good deed, Smarties are truly a happy bit of Canadiana that gets taken for granted.

  2. gooddeedaday

    Thanks, Michael, I didn’t know that Smarties weren’t available in the States. wow.

Leave a Reply

