Day 252: Drive, she said

cartoon-on-holdI tried my best to be as courteous as possible today. That’s it. Nothing fancy schmancy or jaw-dropping this fine day.

It’s actually harder than you might think. Especially if you’re usually rushing around like your hair’s on fire, like I tend to do.

So today, I took a deep breath and made a concerted effort to say “please,” “thank you” and “you’re welcome” as sincerely as possible. I think that’s the hard part. Really meaning it, instead of it being rote or routine. (Actually, I take that back, routine thank yous are perfectly fine, too.)

Yesterday, I wrote about my glee at leaving coins in kiddie cars for free rides. Today, I came across this story on the same theme. (Although much more heart-warming.) Hope it warms yours. Enjoy!

Toy Story

It was a couple of days before Christmas this year and I was with my two-year-old daughter at Toys ‘R’ Us in Oakville. She loves to sit in the Mickey Mouse ride at the front of the store, however she is too afraid to have it move, so she just sits in it and pretend she is driving.

After her sitting in the car for a minute, I heard a young boy (no older than 10) say to his dad: “Dad, can I please have my wallet.” After the Father handed the young boy the wallet, the boy took a loonie out, handed it to me and said, “Here you go, now she can make the car move.”

I thought it was the sweetest thing. I politely explained to him that she is actually afraid of it moving, but thanked him very much for the wonderful offer. He responded by saying, “I saw the little girl and felt bad that she wasn’t able to make it go.”

I just want to say thank you to the little boy who offered his money, and thank you to his parents for teaching him it is nice to give and not just receive during the Christmas holidays. V. Thomas, Oakville

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

