Day 263: Up the down staircase

Think this would be a tricky D.I.Y. project?

Think this would be a tricky D.I.Y. project?

This week, I got back into the swing of things on the TTC, both bus and subway. It’s been so long, in fact, I wasn’t sure if the tokens I had stashed in my wallet would still be valid. They were … phew.

But I did remember to greet my bus driver when I got on, and she smiled back — always a good sign!

I was on my way to an appointment and just missed the bus I’d hoped to catch, so by the time I got to the subway station, I was rushing through trying to make up for lost time.

My way to the escalator wasn’t clear, however. Directly in my path was a dark-haired woman in her thirties who was moving very slowly. Before I could barrel past her to get to the steps, I noticed she had a pronounced limp on her left side. Her right leg was strong but her left foot dragged across the shiny floor with each step.

I slowed my own steps to allow her to get safely on the escalator before I came up behind her. I had planned to keep going but found myself stopping on the step behind her.

This will sound strange, but zooming right past her just seemed wrong, somehow.

Funny thing was, even after all the delays … I ended up being right on time…

Litter lady’s 15 seconds of … well … more litter
If you live in Southern Ontario you might have caught me in good-deed action today on Global TV news.

A lovely reporter named Shirlee Engel emailed me this morning after reading my last post. She asked if I’d like to collect a little more trash as part of her story about pitching in to keep Toronto streets tidier.

I said absolutely no way.

(Had you going there, didn’t I?)

Not only did I jump at the chance to spread the good-deed spirit, I also collected another bag of refuse in the process. Lois Lane and her cameraman even helped me out. I told them, “See, it’s contagious!” (I hope they didn’t think I meant the trash….)

If you want to check out the story, visit the Global TV site here , click on “Top Stories” on the left-hand side, then “Littered Streets.”

P.S. A cool song co-written by Toronto’s Mike Krompass and some dude named David. Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 263: Up the down staircase

  1. Just caught your story on Global. I love the idea behind your blog – one good deed a day – if only everyone would try to do that!

    I’m also a Toronto blogger.

    BTW when I see an elderly person or someone with an injury or disability who might get knocked down in a crowd such as the busy subway station that you were in earlier today I also try to walk a little slower and stay near them. I figure that my presence might act as a buffer if someone were hurrying and might prevent the person from being banged into or knocked over.

  2. Tanya

    I also happened (I very rarely watch the news at this time) to catch your story on Global news tonight. I was intrigued and easily managed to find your blog.

    Your blog is actually the first one that I have ever read more than 3 posts in. I will admit I am a bit on the soft side but browsing through your blog (263 was a bit too much to go through thoroughly) brought me to tears.

    Why can’t more people be like you? A lot of people often decide to be friendlier or to do more acts of kindness but after a couple weeks, or one too many bad days they lose sight of their goal. After sticking with it for an impressive 262 you received the recognition you deserve.

    I think that tomorrow your good deed can simply be a promise to continue with this blog because you have already inspired one person, me, to make a lasting effort to be kinder. And I am sure there are other people who feel the same!

    Thank you for being an inspiration.

  3. Congrats, GDAD!!! I just watched your clip. Is it okay if I link to it on my blog too?

    And maybe get your autograph? You probably think I’m kidding, but I’m not – you’re a local hero. You are!

  4. refnaf

    Yeah, for GDAD….you rock, and so does your taste in music………

  5. gooddeedaday

    Tricia, Tanya, OWW and Refnaf, thanks for your kind words. Keep spreadin’ those good deed vibes!

Leave a Reply

