Day 268: Hoping for chocolate

website-cartoon-chocolate-and-pizza-are-okayYou may recall that today is Everyday Hero day here at GDAD. You don’t? No worries.

Guess what, guys? Today is Everyday Hero day at GDAD. My hero today stands about four feet tall and has freckles.

I don’t know his name, but he was standing in the cold selling chocolate bars outside my grocery store to raise money for the Childhope Foundation Canada.

Freckles kept a very low profile for a salesman, however. He stood far from the entrance to the store and was actually facing the opposite way. It was only when my husband said to me, “You’re going to buy one of those, aren’t you?” that I noticed him at all.

When I walked over, the poor little guy was struggling to hold up the cardboard box that held his wares.

“This is really heavy,” he said.

“You could put it down and just hold a few in your hands?” I suggested, picking out the one I wanted.

“That’s okay,” he said, trying to tough it out and balance the box as he handed me my bar. “Most people like the ones with nuts. But this caramel kind is my favourite.”

Hmm, maybe he was a better salesman than I thought.

childhopeHe had a card for Childhope and I googled the organization when I got home. On their website, it says:

“Childhope Foundation Canada is a non-profit, non-political, non-denominational, registered charitable organization that seeks to address the link between abuse and homelessness.

“Every month, Childhope provides assistance to abused women and children, youth in conflict and displaced families in partnership with other shelters.” Their special programs include shelter support, anti-poverty programs and youth scholarships.

And, for the record, I went that extra good-deed mile and gave the chocolate bar away to someone else … for a chocoholic like me, the supreme sacrifice ….

P.S. On a completely random note, here’s Linda Ronstadt from her Canciones de mi Padre CD. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

