Day 271: Down the up escalator

rapunzelcartoonLast week (Day 263 to be precise), I mentioned that, when walking through the subway station, I purposely slowed down so a disabled lady in front of me could get on the escalator safely.

Today, I went one step further and skipped the escalator entirely. I figured I was leaving more room for those who really need it (some days that is me).

My other good deeds today were equally minor, I’m afraid. I did make a point of greeting and thanking my bus driver, however. (He wears driving gloves, which I find fascinating, for some reason.)

On Day 263, I received a comment from Tricia, a fellow Toronto blogger, sharing a similar subway experience. I liked it so much, I’ll include it here:

“When I see an elderly person or someone with an injury or disability who might get knocked down in a crowd, such as the busy subway station that you were in earlier today, I also try to walk a little slower and stay near them. I figure that my presence might act as a buffer if someone were hurrying and might prevent the person from being banged into or knocked over.”

Thanks, Tricia. Good thinking!

This is so far out, man, it's in.

This is so far out, man, it's in.

And while we’re on the escalator theme, I happened to pick up a brochure at the subway today called “Escalator Safety Guide.”

Its cover tag line made me smile: “Move with the Grooves: Practice Safe-Riding.” Was this the Toronto Transit Commission’s attempt at some sly nudge, nudge, wink-wink double-entendre humour? Practice safe … riding?

And “Move with the Grooves”? How groovy, far out is that? I picture a conga line of commuters boogying up and down the escalator steps. But I digress….

The brochure was actually full of valuable safety tips, such as:

“Never sit or kneel on the steps or ride the handrail.” [Hmm, what an idea!]

“Watch out for loose shoe laces.” [I will now.]

Did you know?

It also featured some fascinating bits of trivia, such as:

  • The first escalator was designed in 1892. [Wow.]
  • The first escalators were made of wood. [Again, wow.]
  • Toronto’s longest escalator is at York Mills Station (148 steps) and the shortest is at Yonge & Bloor (42 steps). [Did not know that.]
  • Statistically escalators are safer than stairs. [I knew that…
    not really.]

By now you’ve probably spotted my actual good deed — curing your insomnia! ’Night all!

P.S. Speaking of nudge, nudge, say no more, here’s Monty Python’s classic sketch. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

