Day 275: Blind book club

Dog on duty: If only he could read....

Dog on duty: If only he could read....

I read about a very unusual book club this week — a blind one. That’s right, none of the members can actually see the pages. So the members rely on a great service from the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB).

The CNIB creates special audio books on CD that are played on DAISY readers. These audio books have special features not available on commercial audio books that allow blind readers to navigate their way through each book.

Being able to read, “sort of opens the world back up to you,” says one member of the club who lost his sight to a genetic disorder seven years ago.

I can’t imagine not being able to read a book by sight. It’s a gift I definitely take for granted. So when I read about the volunteers who voice the books in a studio at the CNIB headquarters right here in Toronto, I knew I wanted to find out how to do that.

Turns out, it’s not so easy. You have to audition. Twice. Yikes.

But I’m up for it … I think. Anyway, I contacted the office today and asked for an application.

No mumblers allowed, I’m sure. I’d better start e-nun-ci-a-ting…

P.S. Great soulful beginning to this song. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

