Day 292: Wrong turn on Good Deed Drive

"Is it safe to come out yet?"

"Is it safe to come out yet?"

I’m in the good-deed penalty box today, folks. My change-in-my- pocket-ready-for-spontaneous- giving system failed me miserably.

I blame this beautiful Toronto weather. Sunny, well above freezing for a change. It’s so nice, in fact, that I finally got to down-grade from my winter parka to a spring jacket.

What does that have to do with my system, you ask? In my glee at the upturn of the temperature, I neglected to transfer the $4 in coins in my parka pocket to my current coat. (No wonder the jacket felt so light!)

Then, to make matters worse, I headed outside without my purse. So when a down-on-his-luck gentleman approached me on the sidewalk, pulling a battered wheeled suitcase behind him, and asked for bus fare, I had nothing to give him. Not a good feeling.

So a little later, on the same route, I made an attempt to redeem myself. I noticed a father and son emerging from a small shop and saw the dad drop what looked to be his credit card. I raced over, picked up the card and called out to him to return it.

He turned around, gave me a puzzled look and waved away the card. I looked at it more closely. It was a laminated business card from the shop they’d just come out of.

We both laughed and I shoved it in my own pocket. So, hey, I might not have reunited a man and his credit card but I guess I at least stopped him from littering. 🙂

P.S. You may be relieved to hear my springtime change-in-pocket system has now been uploaded and is ready to activate at the next opportunity.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 292: Wrong turn on Good Deed Drive

  1. So do you give the $4 at the opportunity, or do you mete it out, or do you play it by ear? Curious…

  2. refnaf

    haha, you are too good!

  3. gooddeedaday

    Hey Ref!

    Michael, we have $1 and $2 coins here, so depending what I have, I go with the flow. No master plan, I’m afraid. But thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

