Day 294: Shelter from the storm

Shelter from the StormAvailable at Winners and HomeSense. (As if you need an excuse to go to Winners?)

Today, at Winners, I bought one of those tote bags that’s perfect for taking to the grocery store so you won’t need to use those evil ecosystem-snarling plastic bags. Not why I bought it, mind you, but that’s a nice side benefit.

Why did I buy it (besides the fetching purple accent colour)? The net proceeds from the sale of the bag fund the Shelter from the Storm Campaign, dedicated to ending violence against women. The funds support more than 450 shelters for abused women (and their children) across Canada, along with community prevention programs.

Here’s more about Shelter from the Storm:

  • You can also donate online or at any Winners, HomeSense or BMO branch.
  • All donations made by April 30th will be matched by Winners, HomeSense, BMO Financial Group.
  • On May 7th, a percentage of everything you buy at Winners and HomeSense will be donated to Shelter from the Storm. [I think I’ll be back May 7th….]

Unlike some stories on the Shelter from the Storm site, this one has a happy ending:

Rosalind’s story
The abuse I suffered started slowly with “gentle criticism” but over the years grew to encompass almost every form of abuse: verbal, psychological, emotional, sexual and physical. It became systemic. In the process, I became so confused and traumatized that I began to disappear.

I didn’t have the words to describe what was happening to me so I drew pictures. In the end, these pictures helped restore my memory and define for me what I had lived through. They helped me get out.

When a publisher asked if they could publish my pictures, I agreed. It is my hope that Dragonslippers will help others understand the phenomenon of “the disappearing woman” in abusive situations – what causes us to stay, and what can help us get out. Most of all, I hope it will serve as a warning in the first place, and save some from ever getting in!

img_book_dragonslippers

Rosalind Penfold: Dragonslippers: This is what an abusive relationship looks like

Toronto Abused Women’s Help Line (416) 863-0511 or 1-866-863-0511 or (TTY) 1-866-863-7868. Call 911 if you are in immediate danger.

P.S. Here’s Bob Dylan, “Shelter from the Storm.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 294: Shelter from the storm

  1. Thanks for profiling Shelter from the Storm on your blog – a very good deed indeed!

    Best Regards,
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

