Day 316: Better world for books

I love books. I may have mentioned that, ahem, once or twice. I also love finding new places to buy or borrow them.

And when I find a way to combine good deeds and books, well, break out the ticker-tape parade, my friends.

So, imagine my excitement when I came across Better World Books, an online bookstore that uses a portion of every sale to fund worldwide literacy projects for charities like Invisible Children, Books for Africa, Room to Read, and others. So far, they’ve raised more than $6,220,530 for global literacy efforts.

How it works
You can buy new or used titles and even donate your own books or textbooks. There’s a “bargain bin” section of five used books for $15, and they even offer free shipping in the U.S. (or $3.97 worldwide).

What book did I get? A used copy of the first Harry Potter book. I read it waaaaaay back when it first came out (covertly, because it was considered a “kid’s” book back then, can you believe it?).

But I loaned it to someone, can’t remember who, and I’d love to reread it now that I’ve finished the whole fantabulous series. And the funds go to support the Howard County Library System Friends. “Library friends” … doesn’t that sound nice?

I love it when my favourite things come together … if only I could squeeze chocolate in there somewhere….

Better World Book report
Better World Books, aka, “The online bookstore with a soul,” was founded in 2002 by three friends from the University of Notre Dame who started selling textbooks online to earn some money, and ended up forming a business with a mission to promote literacy.

According to their website: “We believe that education and access to books are basic human rights. That’s why books sold on BetterWorldBooks.com help fund high-impact literacy projects in the U.S. and around the world.

”Because we believe that most every book has lasting value and the potential to help change the world, we see our job as helping to find new homes for unwanted books. Thus far, we’ve donated nearly one million donated books to partner programs around the world. Our five primary literacy partners are Books for Africa, Room to Read, Worldfund, the National Center for Family Literacy, and Invisible Children. … Thanks for joining us in our mission to create a better world, one book at a time.”

Wow, powerful stuff. Can’t wait for Harry to arrive!

P.S. Here’s a BWB cartoon that’s too cute for words. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

