Day 323: Strangers on a late train

This is pretty much me every morning.

This is pretty much me every morning.

“Fall still. Live in the moment. And awaken to the power of being present.”

Strange words to read on the wall when you’re standing underground on the subway platform watching train after train heading westbound, but nothing eastbound. Lots of time to read the poster advertising classes at the Philosophy Institute.

A garbled announcement crackled fom the PA system. I could only make out the words “security incident,” “Spadina” and “service will resume shortly.” And after 10 more minutes, “Trains being turned back at St. George station.” I was standing at St. George station.

A confused twentysomething young woman asked me if the announcement mentioned anything about our train.

I told her what I knew. Then two other people asked me.

Toon346+This was very puzzling — I’m generally more confused than anyone at any given moment.

It frightens me that anyone would think I know anything helpful. I generally don’t. Really.

I joked to my fellow eastbounders that we’d probably hear the transit announcement more clearly if the person spoke into a tin can attached to a wire. The small group of us laughed and we forgot for a minute how cranky we were.

I guess, for a second there, we lived in the moment. Awakened to the power of being present. Cool.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 323: Strangers on a late train

  1. 🙂

    You made me smile. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

