Day 338: Taking a stand

Lioness stalking its prey ... a good seat on the Serengeti LRT.

Lioness stalking its prey ... a good seat on the Serengeti LRT.

Over the years I’ve developed subway skills so sharp I can aim and fire at a target within 3.2 seconds of the doors opening … The target being an empty seat.

To now switch gears and ignore those finely honed instincts in order to leave those seats open for others is no picnic. Imagine a lioness turning her back on a gazelle to nibble on a stray wedge of tofu.

And make no mistake it is a jungle out there on public transportation, so those survival instincts do come in handy.

But as tired as I felt this morning, I passed up three, three seats that came available in succession and three dumbfounded individuals standing further away zoomed into them so fast it was as if the song had just stopped during musical chairs.

I won’t lie to you. I do sometimes take a seat, but now I try to remember to look around first to make sure there isn’t someone older, even tireder (is that a word?) or carrying something heavy.

P.S. I’m sitting down while I listen to this lovely song, “The Call” by Regina Spektor. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

