Day 341: Rainy days and Mondays

RainPeanutsMy good deed today was an eco-friendly one. An environmental committee at my workplace asked that everyone make a pledge today to do something over the next month to help the environment.

I pledged to turn off the water while I brushed my teeth and today was my first day of water conservation. So far so good.

I also pledged to plant a tree and if it ever gets warm enough to do that, I’m ready with my shovel and cute-as-can-be gardening gloves.

At the end of the day, a good Samaritan came to my aid and out-good-deeded me. It was raining outside and in the struggle to do up my coat before stepping off the bus into the showers, I’d inadvertently knocked my office security pass off my belt loop and it must have dropped on the ground.

I’d walked halfway down the street and felt a tap on my shoulder. A young lady in a hoodie, carrying a heavy backpack, had run from the bus to return the pass to me. She was out of breath and getting damp from the raindrops.

I hadn’t even realized I’d dropped it and was extremely grateful she’d rushed over to return it to me. I was so relieved I could’ve hugged her but … well, you know.

So I thanked her instead and told her she’d saved the day because I’d need it to get into work tomorrow.

She assured me it was “no problem,” pulled up her hood and carried on walking in the rain.

Don’t you love a happy ending?

P.S. A lovely song for a rainy Monday. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

