Day 362: Coffee talk

Most days, I just go with the flow where good deeds are concerned, but today I actually had an idea. Not much of one, mind you, but a small energy-efficient light bulb did go off over my head.

They did say it was fresh....

They did say it was fresh....

The coffee shop where I buy … um … coffee gives out little cards you can get stamped each time you make a purchase. When you get to the end of a row of eight stamps, you get your next coffee for free.

I got my idea when I noticed my stamps had reached the end of a row. Woohoo! Free Java!

Then, my Good Deed A Day alter-ego stepped in and said, “Yo, hold up girlfriend (my GDAD alter-ego is cooler than I am), you don’t need another jolt of caffeine. Why not ‘gift’ it to someone who does?”

This seemed like a brilliant idea at the time. Except that, when I lined up for coffee and got to the cash register … I choked.

You see, the guy next in line was extremely intimidating (i.e., he was there). He was handsome and shiny and had chosen the high-end baked goods.

I turned and looked at him, then I froze. I had no idea how to broach the subject. The cashier had to repeat my total. At this point if I had given the freebie to him, he probably would have mistaken it for one of those sign-language cards the hearing-impaired hand out.

The cashier told me again, only LOUDER, what I owed and I somehow had the presence of mind to put the card back into my wallet, pay for my coffee and start a brand new card. All the while, flushing with embarrassment at being such a GDAD failure.

Come heck or high water, I hereby vow to pluck up my courage and try again next time. To be continued ….

P.S. In the meantime, The King Sisters sing a little “Java Jive.” Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 362: Coffee talk

  1. refnaf

    What a great idea….. don’t give up, tomorrow could be the day that you make a coffeeless person very happy! Caffiene FTW!

Leave a Reply

