Day 379: Sight for sore eyes

Sorting donated eyeglasses in the Phillipines.

Sorting donated eyeglasses in the Philippines.

Have you noticed type sizes in books, magazines and newspapers getting smaller and smaller lately?

Or maybe it’s my reading glasses … perhaps the, um, magnification weakens over time.

Whatever the cause, I’ve been putting aside pairs of glasses that just don’t seem to do the trick for me anymore. And today I finally remembered to bring them with me to church so I could put them in the Lions Club “Recycle for Sight” box.

The Club collects the used specs, repairs them if need be, and sends them to developing countries to help those in need see the light … along with everything else!

austin-powers-cocktail-glass-490007If you’d like to find out where there’s a collection box in your area, click the link above. I hadn’t visited the Lions Club website for a while and going there today reminded me that they also collect sunglasses (prescription and non-prescription) and hearing aids.

I definitely have a retro collection of mod sunglasses that I can bring along next time. Gah-roovy baby….

heartsong1P.S. A reader sent this picture of their garden stone and I wanted to share its beautiful message: “Heartsong: There is an exquisite melody in every heart. If we listen closely, we can hear each other’s song.”

P.P.S. A real “heartsong” from way back. Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 379: Sight for sore eyes

  1. Nice blog! Thanks for helping spread the word about Lions. Please check out our blog if you have a chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

