Day 383: Extra, extra, read all about it

Nietzsche is peachy.

Nietzsche is peachy.

I ran into my old GDAD friend, Mr. John Singh, today. He doesn’t know he’s one of my original GDAD pals, however, so my effusive “Good Morning!” may have frightened the dickens out of the poor man. (No worries though, by all accounts, he’s still in full possession of his dickens.)

I certainly remembered him. Waaaaay back on Day 2, I believe, I purchased the newspaper he sells, the Outreach Connection. Today, the Outreach cover story was about Rolling Stone magazine’s exposé on Goldman Sachs and the stock market meltdown. (An interesting choice considering the paper has been “Helping the Homeless and the Unemployed Every Week since 1993.”)

Mr. Singh is a very cheery Indian gentleman of about 60 with a gap-toothed grin that’s hard to miss because he’s always smiling. I admire his positive attitude, for it’s not so easy peddling those Outreach papers. It involves standing or sitting out in all weather just to make a few bucks. (In fact, that’s what they say on their masthead, “A grassroots effort to help people make a few bucks.”)

I asked him how his day was going and we chatted for a minute. Then he pointed to his picture on the front cover with great pride.

“Do you know this fellow?” he said, grinning slyly.

“Is that you?” (I actually knew the answer already.)

“That’s me. I have a ‘Notable Quotable’ in every one.”

I congratulated him on making the front cover, bought my copy and off I went.

The quote today was a little chilling, but I’ll share it with you:

Notable Quotables
by John Singh

Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.
Friedrich Nietzsche

Next time I encounter a monster, I’ll definitely keep that in mind….

P.S. A song for a sunny day. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

