Day 384: Taking it to the streets

chickenphotoNo one seemed to need any help today. I did try. First, there was that senior citizen with a cane. I started to hold the door open for him but he waved me off and pushed the automatic-door-opener button with his walking stick.

Next, there was the lady on the subway. A seat opened up but she stood steadfast and insisted I take it. (What’s a girl to do?)

Then there was the sombre woman in my office building who looked particularly elegant today, so I told her so, hoping to cheer her up.

“I’m going to a funeral,” she said.

And, finally, there was the family of five tourists (from Scandinavia somewhere, judging from their accents). I noticed the dad and mom taking turns behind the camera while two beautiful blonde boys and one girl posed for pictures with one parent only.

I asked them if they’d like a shot with the whole family in it but they said no and looked absolutely terrified of me. Their travel agent must have warned them about being approached by strangers bearing good deeds. (Or maybe it was because I used the word “shot” … hmmm, bad move.)

In any case, since I was foiled for the most part today, thought I’d share this lovely story from my local paper. (If only to let Mr. and Mrs. Scandinavian-Tourist know that many Torontonians mean no harm at all.)

Good Samaritans
Excerpted from The Toronto Star

Recently I was walking along St. Clair Ave. W. in the rain. I was wearing slippery shoes. As I crossed Warren Rd., my legs flew out from under me.

As I struggled to stand up, I felt faint. I couldn’t put any weight on my left leg. Two construction workers came over to inquire if I was okay. I told them I was fine, and sat on the curb to regain my composure. I realized I had torn my hamstring and could not walk.

A kind gentleman in a blue car pulled over to the curb and asked if I was okay. I said I wasn’t sure. His car moved away, and I thought he had gone. He actually had parked the car and come over to bend down and ask if I needed help. I felt as though I would faint, and he was very calming.

Another construction worker came over to see how I was. I asked them if they could take me a few yards down the road to my appointment, where I’d be able to lie down. The two gentlemen got me on my feet. The construction worker leaned over and the two of them got me onto his back, piggyback-style, and that sweet man in the yellow rain slicker took me down the street to my destination.

They were both gone before I could properly thank them. I would like to say thank you for their kindness and concern. They braved the weather to help someone in trouble. They are truly angels.
Michele, Toronto

P.S. … and speaking of Angels…. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

