Day 386: Whine and cheese

Cheese please.

Cheese please.

Today was one of those days when the only good deed I felt like doing was crawling back into bed and pulling the covers over my head.

“Oh, typical Monday,” you’re probably thinking.

I did manage to say “Good morning” to my bus driver when I got boarded, and “thank you” when I got off, but even that took a great deal of effort, I’m sad to say.

And sinceĀ  there was no one standing, I gladly took a seat.

Throughout the day, under duress, I managed to hold a door or two open for others but I probably wasn’t as cheery about it as I could have been.

Then, at the end of my grey day, I saw a homeless man with matted red hair and wild eyes holding a cardboard sign. On it, the words “HOMELESS NEED FOOD” were written in shaky block capitals.

The man did not need the sign. As soon as I saw him, I felt like a jerk for moaning and groaning all day, about … well, nothing really. I approached him and put some coins into his paper cup, which was about as ragged and filthy as he was.

No more whine from me today … but maybe some cheese.

P.S. Happy 40th Anniversary of the Apollo Moon Landing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

