Day 390: TGIF

Drats, that pumpkin coach is late again....

Drats, that pumpkin coach is late again....

I did a clandestine cleanup of our office kitchen today. Everyone takes a turn for a week on the rotating roster, but I know the person assigned to do it is swamped this week, so I wanted to help out.

So when the coast was clear, I played Cinderella and spit and polished what I could.

It’s normally fairly tidy in there, but on Fridays, everyone’s more focused on getting caught up and outta there for the weekend, so it was starting to look a little rough around the edges.

I also wanted to share this story from my local paper. It made me laugh because I think I’ve startled a few people with my good-deed antics over the past year. Enjoy!

I have no idea if this works but, man, it looks cool.

I have no idea if this works but, man, it looks cool.

Bicycle built for one

On July 17, I was just about to lock my bicycle to a tree at Adelaide and King for a quick foray into the bank when a tall, fit young man wearing a helmet startled me by coming over in a somewhat aggressive way.

As a senior citizen I was apprehensive, but his next words took me completely by surprise. “Your bicycle chain is so rusty it’s practically a crime,” he blustered, and he pulled out a can of some special kind of oil and proceeded to bathe my bicycle chain.

As he continued to treat my decrepit bike with loving care he advised me to get some product at any bicycle store so that my bicycle would not fall apart.

When he was finished, with a cheery smile and a wave of the hand, he was off again – a downtown bicycle courier with a kind heart and a random act of kindness.
— excerpted from The Toronto Star

P.S. A great song for a Friday!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 390: TGIF

Leave a Reply

