Day 397: Book worm returns

The black line shows the U.S./Canada border that runs through the Haskell Free Library and Opera House in Derby Line, Vermont.

The black line shows the U.S./Canada border that runs through the Haskell Free Library and Opera House in Derby Line, Vermont/Stanstead, Quebec.

I returned a library book for someone  today. Now, that in itself doesn’t sound like a big deal. Thing is, the library is seven hours, two provinces and one country away from my house.

No biggie though, I love coming here (as you might have noticed from the one or two or 10 Haskell Free-love letter posts I’ve done from here).

The sweetest thing was, when I told the librarian I was returning the book for someone else and I’d like to pay the overdue fine, she laughed and said, “Oh, we’ve done away with all that.”

The difference between a small town and the big city, I guess. So instead, I put a donation in the library’s restoration fund box. And then spent a few moments bonding with their books.

If you have a favourite library, or book, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

