Day 398: Life is a highway

Oscar-winner Ernest Borgnine's real claim to fame? ... He was the first centre square in the original version of the TV game show, Hollywood Squares.

Oscar-winner Ernest Borgnine's real claim to fame? ... He was the first centre-square in the original version of the TV game show, Hollywood Squares. Cool.

Took my good deeds on the road today … a loooong road that took more than eight hours to drive (I shared driving duties with my husband).

I figured being a courteous driver on the highway on a long weekend (which it was in Ontario this weekend) wasn’t just considerate, it was a safety measure!

Signalling well in advance and leaving as much space as possible between me and the other cars seemed to make the trip more relaxing as well.

(Gotta work on my lane changes, however. My husband needed to remind me it wasn’t an Indy race.)

When we pulled into a rest stop, I also let a new mom ahead of me in line for the bathroom. And I made a point of telling her how cute her baby was. (Looked just like Ernest Borgnine — thank goodness he was a boy!) The mom beamed and told me he was four months’ old today. So I also wished him a Happy four-month Birthday. And she beamed some more. As my niece would say, we had a moment.

Borgnine bits
Real name: Ermes Effron Borgnino [Catchy, I like it!]
Born: January 24, 1917 (age 92), in Hamden, Connecticut
Wives — 5, count ’em … who knew?:
1. Rhoda Kemins (1949–1958)
2. Katy Jurado (1959–1963)
3. Ethel Merman (1964–1965) [yes, the Ethel Merman]
4. Donna Rancourt (1965–1972)
5. Tova Traesnaes (1973–present)

Yes, Mr. Borgnine won an Academy Award for Marty in 1955, but some of his finest work can be found more recently on TV. He voices the elderly superhero Mermaid Man on SpongeBob SquarePants, appeared on The Simpsons episode “Boy-Scoutz ‘N the Hood” as himself, and won an Emmy-nomination for his guest-star turn on the final episode of ER. Not bad for 92….

P.S. A song for you. Probably not the one you’re expecting. Enjoy!

P.S. A song for you. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

