Day 416: Starry, starry night

Lights for loved ones light up the night.

Lights for loved ones light up the night.

I went to a lovely art festival last evening in Providence, R.I., called WaterFire. The river is dotted with roaring bonfires on pedestals that reflect along the water while haunting music plays. Beautiful.

One of the ways to support the festival is an event called Starry, Starry Night. For a donation, you can light either a paper luminary that sits on the ground or a star that hangs from a tree.

I loved the look of all the lights twinkling around the base of the trees, so I chose a paper-bag style light. You can dedicate your luminary to someone, so I wrote my message on the special paper they gave me and placed the light under one of the twinkling trees.

It’s amazing to me how that simple gesture can be so moving. I’ll never forget it.

P.S. As you may have noticed, I’m on the road at the moment so my posting times may be a bit wonky. Sorry about that, but stay tuned for more good deeds in transit!

P.P.S. Guess what? Starry, starry night by Don McLean. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

