Day 421: Border schmorder

Canada's to the left, to the left...

Canada's to the left, to the left...

As I type this post, my butt is sitting squarely in Canada, while my right elbow keeps poking over into the U.S.

I’m sitting in one of my favourite places in the whole wide world, the Haskell Free Library & Opera House, built directly over the Canada/U.S. border. Its two addresses are 93 Caswell Avenue, Derby Line, Vermont, and 1 Church Street, Stanstead, Quebec.

To my left is a Canadian flagpole, and to my right, the Star-Spangled Banner. To be honest, I only noticed them this morning when a visitor asked if I could move so he could take a photo of the border line and the two flags.

I asked him if he’d like to be in the picture himself and he got so excited at the prospect, he practically threw his camera at me and leapt between the two flags.

After I handed the camera back to him to check if my shots had actually worked, we talked for a bit about what a special place this was. He was visibly moved as he explained that he found this spot to be a beautiful tribute to peace, to fellowship among nations and international cooperation — especially considering the tightening of border security across the 49th parallel.

As I sat my butt back down in the Great White North and leaned my elbow stateside, I smiled at that very thought….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

