Day 422: Mea maxima culpa

Clueless ... that's me ... minus the boa.

Clueless ... that's me ... minus the boa.

Ms. GDAD is in hot water folks. Turns out I’ve been so preoccupied with doing not-so-random acts of kindness for strangers that I’ve left a few friends and family members in the dust.

My husband and I returned from a week out of town yesterday to a landlord who’d been frantically wondering where we were (we usually fill him and his wife in before we leave … they worry).

Then, a wonderful friend who I’d forgotten I’d promised to go see the movie Julie & Julia with had to read in this very blog that … eek … I’d already gone to see it. (And if you’re reading now … still sorry.)

And to top things off, when we did arrive home, a family member let me have it long-distance for leaving without saying good-bye. (That was not my fault, a complete misunderstanding, but still, very, very sorry.)

So I have some personal good-deeding to do for the next while to mend a few fences … don’t think opening doors for them is going to cut it somehow … wish me luck….

Did you know…

… that “my bad” is the modern slang version of the Latin phrase “mea culpa” (meaning “my own fault”)?

The term gained popularity after the 1995 movie Clueless starring Alicia Silverstone. In the scene where her character, Cher, is learning to drive, Cher swerves to avoid killing a cyclist and says, “Whoops, my bad.”

And yet, waaaay back in Will Shakespeare’s Sonnet 112, we find:

Your love and pity doth the impression fill
Which vulgar scandal stamp’d upon my brow;
For what care I who calls me well or ill,
So you o’er-green my bad, my good allow?

Aha! Move over, Miss Silverstone!

P.S. Lovely song filmed by a lovely friend. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

